Scratch Live/Vinyl

phonetics

Hey all, how’s it?

I was in Auckland last weekend (cheers for a wicked one Cluedo ) and I saw the Scratch Live thing being used for the first time, which is all pretty neat stuff. I was thinking about it on my long-ass drive home and was wondering what this means for vinyl. You guys have probably already had this debate, but I was just wondering what everyone thought about it as I’m new to this Scratch Live thing.

My main concern is the existence of vinyl. Whilst there are obvious advantages with the device, aren’t we phasing out the whole vinyl production/retail aspect of our industry? Will the wide-scale use of the MP3-based mixing device’s make vinyl and the associated retail/production cease to exist? What wider effects will this have on our industry as larger amounts of people migrate towards purchasing MP3’s direct off internet sites and playing their own tunes made on their computers?

Personally, I’m a “vinyl-all-the-wayâ€

Either or, if you can be fuked plugging in a laptop n mucking around with rca's everytime you play out then go hard. If clubs had a scratch interface that would make it far more appealing. Until then, ill stick with vinyl.

I'm also a vinyl all the way guy but I'm open to new tech as well. As long as I'm settled in ak I'll stick with wax but a Serato setup would kick arse when I go traveling.

Mind you I don't think I'll have the spare cash to buy one of those before I travel

i plead with anyone who is buying Serato to actually pay for their 320's. You can get an entire collection for what I spend in a month on vinyl (it's a lot) so if I catch you downloading mpfrees and playing them I will hunt you down and... yeah

okay a lot of you may say disagree with this statement but its my god honest opinion..

Vinyl sounds better, looks a shitload cooler, doesnt really depreciate and gives u a fine visual representation of the track (distinguishable grooves).